New intern profile – Kudakwashe Kuhlengisa

My name is Kudakwashe Kuhlengisa and I am doing an internship in the English School. I was born in Zimbabwe and I came to South Africa in 2007 where I completed my Masters in Sociology at the University of Johannesburg. My master’s dissertation focused on the lived experiences of Zimbabwean women seeking livelihoods through informal cross border trading between South Africa and Zimbabwe, following the economic meltdown of the country. As a sociologist, I’m interested in social integration, empowerment and equity in society. As a social scientist, I believe I have a social responsibility to help make a positive impact in people’s lives. Being engaged in the English School, I have an opportunity to help empower refugees in South Africa so that they are able to make a better life for themselves in a country that is now their home.
As a migrant living in South Africa, my own experiences have led me to develop a keen interest in issues affecting migrants specifically in South Africa and being at Scalabrini, I find myself being able to confront most of these issues.

I hope to grow professionally and personally while at Scalabrini and I am looking forward to meeting every new person. I want to take advantage of the fact that Scalabrini is such a dynamic environment where you will meet people from all corners of the world and I want to learn as much as I can about the different cultures of the world.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

