New Intern Profile – Pippa Mulvey

20170221_082825

Hi everyone, my name is Pippa and I’ll be an Advocacy Intern at Scalabrini until the end of September. I’m from the UK and have spent the last few years living in Edinburgh. After studying International Relations at university I spent some time in Cape Town volunteering with asylum seekers and refugees. This experience and a subsequent internship in Ghana definitely helped me decide that I wanted to work in the field of development and pushed me towards doing a masters in Africa and International Development. During my masters I was lucky enough to get funding to return to Ghana to conduct research on vulnerable female migrants living in an informal settlement in Accra.
I’m so excited to be back in Cape Town and to learn more about South Africa’s refugee policy. I have been interning at Scalabrini now for six weeks and I’m already loving it.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

