New Intern Profile – Mathilda Mallinson

20170221_084402

My name is Mathilda and I have recently graduated from the University of Cambridge with a BA in history. The focus of my final dissertation was Zulu history and identity and the impressions of colonialism, which initiated my interest in South Africa as a country. I’m known to have itchy feet and hope to live in many places across the world, but Cape Town is my first move out of the UK! I am keen to work in humanitarian development, particularly in education, and Scalabrini stood out to me as an organisation that effectively addresses some of the most prominent issues of our day, namely the displacement of and estrangement between peoples. Besides history, I have experience working in theatre and studying art, and am interested in the application of art, movement and theatre constructively in social welfare and cultural interaction. Such work is among the many projects run by Scalabrini that attracted me to volunteer here, an establishment from which I’m sure I can learn as much as I can contribute.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

