New Intern Profile – Serena Bernardini

Serena.JPG

Hello! My name is Serena and will be an All-Rounder Intern for the next three months! I came from Italy, where I graduated first in International Cooperation and Development, and later in International Relations. After the bachelor, I went for two months in India for an internship in Rural Development, where I understood that working side by side with persons and on the field is what really makes me happy. Therefore, in 2014 I went for one year to Peru for a microfinance project in a school, working with kids to raise awareness on hazardous work related dangers. I have also undertaken a research on gender-related issues in order to write my Comparative Constitutional Law thesis, in which I analysed the situation of human trafficking in Peru, affecting especially women and children. After that, I spent the last year living in Quito, Ecuador, where with the Red Amazonica we were training local community leaders for active citizenship, protecting the rights, the identity and the territory of the Amazon communities, in the perspective of a socio-political and socio-environmental commitment. All these experiences allowed me to work and to get in touch with people from all over the world, comparing myself with different cultures and traditions. I love traveling and see new places, and for me this would be the first time living in Africa. I never worked before in migration issues, and therefore I’m totally excited for this new experience in the Scalabrini Centre, which I am sure will give a substantial contribution to improve my professional skills, and even more my personal growth.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

