New Intern Profile – Maren Bjørkan

Maren.JPG

My name is Maren. I am originally from Norway and I will be an EAP intern at Scalabrini until December. In May 2016 I finished my bachelors degree in Peace and Conflict Studies at Bjørknes University College in Oslo, Norway. During my program I had courses in International law, human rights law, conflict resolution and transitional justice which all sparked my interest for the African continent. Thus, I ended up writing my thesis on the dual role of security forces in Nigeria in their response to terrorism. It was through my exchange semester in 2015 at Stellenbosch University I had my first encounter with South Africa. During my 6 months in Stellenbosch I, as so many others, fell in love with Cape Town and decided that an internship here would be perfect after finishing my degree. That is how I found and ended up at Scalabrini!
I am thrilled to be back in Cape Town and to be part of such an interesting and exciting environment. When I am not working, I enjoy taking dance classes, cooking, meeting new people and exploring new places. Lastly, I am very excited about working at the Scalabrini Centre. I am enjoying it already and I look forward to the coming months!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

