New Intern Profile – Jennifer Johnson

Jennifer

Hi all, I’m Jennifer Johnson, and I am currently pursuing my master’s degree in International Education Development from Columbia University’s Teachers College in New York. My particular focus is on Peace and Human Rights. Prior to this though, I obtained my bachelor’s degree in Philosophy from the University of Washington. There my focus was in Applied Ethics and Human Rights Issues. So, my academic interests have stayed consistent in that I have always cared very much about the need to improve the lives of others.

After my undergraduate study, I taught sixth-grade English for two years as part of the nonprofit Teach For America program. During my time as a teacher I worked predominately with disadvantaged minority students, many of whom were undocumented or came from migrant families. This experience furthered my interest and commitment to continue advocating for people from similar populations, and is in large part why I decided to pursue my master’s degree in an effort to become more effective in this field of work.

As part of my current studies, I have also developed strong interest in the role and impact of nonprofit organizations. As such, this curiosity and passion is what has now brought me to the Scalabrini Centre of Cape Town’s Employment Access Programme, and I am quite excited to be here.

When I am not working or studying, I also love cooking and trying new restaurants, since I also used to work as a chef. I’m looking forward to exploring the food scene in the City Centre, as well as traveling around the countryside to explore all the diverse culinary and viniculture offerings of South Africa.

One thought on “New Intern Profile – Jennifer Johnson

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

