New Intern Profile –Maxime Bourqui

 

Maxime

Hi, my name is Maxime, I am 23 years old and I come from Switzerland. I have freshly graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in International Relations from the University of Geneva.

During my studies I learned much from a theoretical point of view on different causes of migration and problems migrants face in their integration process into a new society. Liking challenges that benefit not only me but also others I founded an NGO (Association SUD) to promote education in Senegal. Within this project, I got the opportunity to learn to carry out a project to all its aspects such as identify the needs of populations, establish goals and financial plan, raise funds, establish a relationship between the different teams between Switzerland and Senegal , negotiate with Local Authorities and ensure the sustainability of the project. This experience allowed me to see how essential it is to acquire real skills in order not only to have, but also to achieve objectives as altruistic as they can be.

Dealing with the complexity of refugees and migrant situations and providing effectively support belongs to a serious challenge which I am ready to take part. This is why I now am joining the Scalabrini Centre of Cape Town as an intern in the Women’s Platform. I am glad to learn skills and to work with people who I am sure will teach me even more than I can learn.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

