New Intern Profile – Helena Spector

Helena

Hello! My name’s Helena (tricky pronunciation, choose your own) and I’m one of the new EAP interns here at Scalabrini. I have a BA in Social Anthropology and did my thesis on the political representation and social mobilisation of youth in East Africa. So being in South Africa is not only a nice (read TOTAL) change but my time in Cape Town has so far been pretty incredible. If hectic and windy and HOT. But most importantly, I’m really loving the chance to work with asylum seekers, refugees and migrants. Everyone I know will tell you that migration and xenophobia is something that I’ve become passionate about (especially following 2015 in Europe) and am seriously considering a career in immigration and asylum law in London. I am so moved already by the challenges of social integration I’ve seen here so far, and I can’t tell you how much I value the opportunity to see just some of the amazing work Scalabrini does.  Thank you so much for having me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

