New Intern Profile – Katie Elliot

IMG_8862Hello, my name is Katie Elliot. I am an All-Arounder at the Scalabrini Centre of Cape Town. I will be volunteering here for four months. I was born and raised in Connecticut, on the east coast of the U.S. I am currently in my fourth year at Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts. I am studying Human Services with a focus on Child and Family Services, minoring in American Sign Language and working on a minor in Social Entrepreneurship. In the past I have worked at an organization outside of Boston that helps young adults and adults with disabilities to learn life and social skills and find jobs in the community. I was a teacher of a class of young adults and helped as a job coach. Ever since I have become a strong advocate for people with disabilities and I have worked at a summer camp for children with disabilities. In the states I also lead a volunteer organization and volunteer myself at various organizations in the community. Additionally, I have been assisted in service-learning classes at the University. I really love getting involved in my community, being active, and trying new things which is how I ended up here at Scalabrini Centre in Cape Town.

This current internship is part of my studies at the University. Prior to coming to Cape Town I have worked in a primary school for a month with three Deaf children. This is my first time in Cape Town, South Africa and I am very excited to learn about the country and the people in it. So far, I have met many wonderful people from all around the world with different stories and things to offer to the country. This is my first time working with refugees and immigrants but I am looking forward to learning more about the refugee and asylum seeker system in South Africa. I am hoping to develop new skills while teaching English and helping with other programs to assist the asylum seekers and refugees here at Scalabrini. My ultimate goal is to try to make a difference to one person at a time, however I can.

One thought on “New Intern Profile – Katie Elliot

Add yours

  1. Hi Katie,
    So excited for you. If you find that there some tangible something the kids in my Sunday school could do to help, please let me know. I know there is a great distance to over come,but where there is a will there will be a way. XO
    Aunt Mem

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

