NEW INTERN PROFILE – HELEN FAIRS

IMG_2988Hi All, I’m Helen and I’m from the UK; I grew up in Newcastle and studied Art History at Manchester University. After 10 years working in museums and galleries I decided a couple of years ago that I wanted to do something different; as well as arts and culture I’ve always been interested in human rights hence why I started working for a charity called Refugee Action a couple of years ago. I worked at Refugee Action until September 2014 on the Gateway Protection Programme which is the UK’s UNHCR funded resettlement programme; helping a small number of the world’s most vulnerable refugees (mainly from DRC, Somalia, Sudan & Bhutan) adjust to and settle into life in the UK. I am in Cape Town for 3 months with my partner Jon whilst he works for Durham University on a research project. As an All-Rounder at Scalabrini I’m really looking forward to getting to know everyone and being as helpful and useful as possible during the short time I have here.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

