NEW INTERN PROFILE – MAXIME VERBEIJ

MaximeHello everyone! My name is Maxime and I have just started as an all-rounder intern at the Scalabrini Centre.

I was born and raised in the Netherlands, where I finished a Master’s in Sociology –specialization in Migration and Ethnic studies. The approach to migration in this studies was rather Eurocentric. This is my first time in South Africa, and I am very excited to learn more about migrants and refugees in a completely different geographical context. Moreover, after four years of learning about migration in an academic environment, I really wanted to experience the reality of migration in an NGO setting, which is how I ended up here at Scalabrini.

As an all-rounder, I am hoping to get an insight in all different programmes of the Scalabrini Centre and to make myself useful in every way possible.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

