NEW INTERN PROFILE – KATHY GARCIA

KathyMy name is Kathy Garcia, and I am currently interning with the Advocacy Program at Scalabrini. I was born and raised in Southern California, and I come from a family of Mexican immigrants. My family’s experience as economic migrants in the United States has made me passionate about immigration issues, and I look forward to learning more about the experience of immigrants in South Africa.

I am an aspiring immigration attorney, and I plan to apply for law school next year. My first introduction to South Africa was in January 2013 as an international student at UCT. I loved the five months that I spent exploring Cape Town, and returned to the US determined to come back. I was intrigued by the xenophobic attacks and high rates of immigration that I learned about while studying at UCT, so I eventually networked my way to Scalabrini, and was captivated by the warm environment, friendly people, and important work that is carried out by the center.

After months of saving and planning, I am ecstatic to be at Scalabrini, and eager to see what the next few months have in store!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

