NEW INTERN PROFILE – YASMIN DUNKLEY

yasminI am originally from the UK. I am working at Scalabrini as the English School intern, dividing my time between office management, teaching a beginners’ English class and implementing a series of HIV awareness workshops. My educational background is in History and Politics, which I studied at Oxford University. My degree choice rested on my belief in the necessity of history and politics as a means to cultural exchange. Hence I have also studied French, German and Arabic. I thrive on communicating with people.Professionally, I have consistently sought out local and international development opportunities. From working with primary children with special educational needs as a teaching assistant in socio-economically deprived communities in Medway, to mentoring state school students into Oxford, I have fought to remove any barrier for an individual to actualise their potential. My refugee work also started in the UK, where I acted as a case manager with Kent Refugee Help in order to provide pastoral and legal aid to the vulnerable detainees of the Dover Immigration Removal Centre. Internationally, I have taught drama in Cambodia, performed research projects independently in Germany and with the British Council in France. More recently, I worked in East London South Africa, as part of a HIV research project, Mzantsi Wakho, run in collaboration between the Universities of Oxford and Cape Town and UNICEF, among other international and local NGOs. The project focused on the adherence difficulties faced by Xhosa-speaking HIV-positive youth in a variety of urban and rural settings in the Eastern Cape. I thrive on any challenge, I walked 780km last summer on the ‘Camino de Santiago’ across Spain. My mother is an outdoors addict and would take me on 1000mile bike rides for the summer. I would love to think in some small way I am bringing her enthusiasm for any adventure into my daily life.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

