INTERN REFLECTION – SOPHIA RAISER

IMG_9793I began working at Scalabrini Centre in December and have had an amazing experience. As part of my studies in social work, I applied as an All Rounder intern to gain insight and knowledge in various aspects of the centre. In addition to covering reception, my first major task was to transcribe an English mini-book so English students can further their learning at home. Subsequently, with the help of colleagues and students of the English School, Eva and I recorded a CD for Jean’s new English Curriculum “English in SA- Asylum Seekers and Refugees Manual”.

In January, I joined the Employment Access Program because they were short-handed. It has been such a great experience! I worked on the Employment Help Desk. At the desk, I helped clients create and update CVs and fill out applications.

Once clients have registered and made a CV, they have access to the rest of EAP’s resources and services. They can send job-related faxes and emails, use the phone to inquire about job openings or set up interviews, and use the PC laboratory to search for jobs on their own. I loved working at the Employment Help Desk because I enjoyed interacting with and helping all the different and lovely clients and I enjoyed feeling like an integral part of the Scalabrini team.

I learned a lot during my time at Scalabrini. I am not a native English speaker and my internship at the centre helped me improve my English skills drastically. Along with improving my English, I also gained a lot of insight into the field of migration and refugee issues. I believe my work at the EHD helped clients develop their career and further integrate into South African society. While the work was difficult, seeing clients get interviews and jobs made all the hard work worth it.

I am going to miss working at Scalabrini and I will remember and grow from my experiences working here. My internship greatly enhanced my studies and I am extremely grateful for my time here.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

