Leire Goñi

Leire

Hi,I`m Leire,and I am from Spain. I got the opportunity to work in this amazing organization about three months ago. Before that I spent 9 months learning English in Cape Town and trying to find an organization such as this where I could make a worthy contribution.

When I found the Scalabrini Centre and I found out about all the work they do, immediately I decided to send my CV and apply to work as a volunteer. I studied Social Work and I have a Masters in migrations and conflicts, so I have always been really interested about the reasons of forced migrations and what is happening with the people who are moving to another country knowing that life won’t be easy, but there is another chance.

Years ago, I participated in a programme that did war awareness in Bosnia and Herzegovina (where there was war between 1991-1995). At this programme I had a chance to meet a lot of people who suffered during the war and I heard the testimonies of them, learning about the human consequences of a war. The Scalabrini Centre helps refugees and immigrants who have social and legal problems in South Africa. I am learning a lot and it is beautiful to get to know the clients, I love to work with people… so I am thinking I want to stay as long as possible.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

