Elissa

ElissaHey, my name is Elissa. I am the English School Intern here at Scalabrini. I’m about one month into the internship and I have loved every minute! Between the mission of the organization, the inspiring staff and volunteers, the incredible clients and the setting in Cape Town, it is about as good as it gets.

I graduated a few years ago with a degree in Political Science and Social Justice. Since that time, I have been keeping busy working in different social service fields. I found my way to Scalabrini by chance, very lucky chance. While living in Ethiopia, I took a holiday in Cape Town and stayed at the Scalabrini Guesthouse. Even from that brief experience, I knew I would love to be more involved and was thrilled when that opportunity presented itself.

In addition to doing a bit of teaching in the English School, I will be assisting the program directors as they continue to help the school thrive and grow. The school serves about 350 refugee and asylum seekers in Cape Town. I have never in my life met such enthusiastic students. It is an absolute joy to spend time with them every day!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

