Daphne

My name is Daphne and I have now been working at Scalabrini for one month, time has gone by so fast! I will stay here for two more months.

Last year I finished my Masters in Anthropology, for which I conducted research in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, on a refugee related topic. I loved living in Tanzania and I got very interested in refugee related issues. Back home (The Netherlands), I started working with refugees and migrants in various projects. I decided to go back to Africa again to gain working experience and to discover another African country.

At Scalabrini, I’m working at the Employment Help Desk and I assist with the various workshops that Scalabrini offers.  This week I was teaching clients how to use Word, email, Excel etc. Most of them have never used a computer before, so you really have to start with the basics. It’s nice to see their amazement when they managed to attach a file on their email!

I really like working at Scalabrini since you feel like you can really help the clients. So I look forward to the next two months and after that … travel!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

