Eva

My name is Eva Rosenkranz and I have been an intern at the Advocacy Desk since June this year. I am originally from Germany, but currently doing my masters studies in ‘Development Studies’ in the south of Sweden. Before finishing my studies I wanted to gain some more practical experience and the post for an internship at Scalabrini Centre sounded ideal!

Having lived in Cape Town for some months in 2010 (with the great atmosphere of the World Cup), it was not difficult to get settled in this vibrant city with its mix of wonderful people. I especially enjoy encountering people with so many different backgrounds and stories to tell – from all over the world.

It has been great getting to know the inspiring and hard work of the Advocacy Team – the court case about the re-opening of the Refugee Reception Office for Newcomers is particularly exciting to see and work with. With a focus on migration in my previous studies, it’s interesting to discover differences in the South African asylum seeking system, compared to the one in Germany or Sweden.

In my free time I enjoy meeting friends, hiking the beautiful surrounding mountains and have recently discovered the fun of book launches! I’m excited to move closer to the beach in a short time and thus longing for summer to hopefully come soon….

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

