Anthony

1. Tell us about your experiences working with students at the Elementary Level.

The students at this level are very engaging and enriching, it is a highlight of my week coming to teach them.  They are very attuned to what is going on in class and readily participate.  They are experienced in life and they learn from me much as as I do from them about humility and the joys of life! 

2. Why did you want to become a teacher?

With the free time retirement gives a person I felt it important to give back to society and the community. Luckily enough Scalabrini was looking for volunteer teachers!

3. Who influenced you to become a teacher?

Throughout my working career I did a lot of staff training and ran multiple courses for employees of a corporate company.  I became comfortable, through these experiences, teaching and engaging with people.  I have never officially been trained to teach but with my past working experience it has come easily to me and became something I truly enjoy.

5. Do you make learning fun for the students? How?

In the classroom the prime and most important task is to teach English but at the same time you touch on so many different subjects and learn so much about each other.  One topic will lead to another so easily, it is hard not to get off track with the students!  The students will take the class where they want it to be, touching on more areas than just the language of English. 

6. What do you like to do when you aren’t teaching?

When I am not teaching I thoroughly enjoy being with my family.  My hobbies also include being an avid reader, especially of financial journals, wine tasting, fine dining and traveling.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

