Volunteer Interview: Sara

I’m Sara, from the European state of Norway, turned 22 two weeks ago, on a Wednesday, but nobody in the office noticed. I came to Cape Town for the first time in the summer months of 2011, and fell in love with the land and a man who gave me butterflies. As you might have noticed while trying to catch a butterfly, the beauty is led by any small whistle of wind crawling on its wings, which makes it hard to catch. Well, my academic history is a little like that. I’ve started on three different bachelor degrees, in three different countries, each time convinced that I’d found my absolute destiny. I had not.

But through failure comes the best lessons, and I believe I live to experience with a great scope. I’m perhaps also a little restless… I also enjoy writing and singing, but I’m forced to suppress my creative side out of lack of time, and privacy from a curious neighbor. Oh, and I forgot to tell you how much I love to work. I love to work so much that last year I had 4 jobs at the same time, night and day. Now I only have two jobs, but both are fulltime, and one of them unpaid. I also take writing courses, organize events on the weekends and study. Thank goodness it’s online!

Do you feel like you know me better now? Do you worry about which program I could possibly be responsible for running? I’m an intern working on Foreign Teachers Internship Program through the Employment Access program. Simply put, this project places foreign teachers into a three-month internship at schools in Cape Town & is currently building a legal case to improve teachers’ employment opportunities. Local teaching experience will give the educators the opportunity to get to know South African school system, get a local reference and network with colleges.

For the record, I am settling in well with my program, colleagues and Scalabrini as a whole, except that the office buildings are a bit hostile in temperature. But don’t worry, I won’t let the chilly wind blowing through the closed windows take me anywhere – we all know that there are no butterflies during winter.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

