Teacher Interview: Helene Nauta-Beukes

1. Tell us a little about yourself.

I was born and raised  in Cape Town, and have recently moved downtown.  Next year I will be studying at CPUT to, hopefully, one day become a teacher.  I am currently teaching the Intermediate II and Pre-Intermediate I classes here at Scalabrini.

2. Tell us about your experiences working with students at the Advanced Levels.

My students are absolutely incredible.  They are very inspiring and hard-working.  I enjoy teaching the advanced levels because of the great conversations we are all able to have.  I love coming to class regardless of how sleepy I am!

3. Why did you want to become a teacher?

I wanted to become a teacher in order to give people the precious gift of education.  Everyone has a right to learn, to better themselves through education and I wanted to be a part of that process.  The opportunity to learn is priceless and I know everyone wants to learn, what we teachers need to do is find a way to teach and get through to them!

4. Who influenced you to become a teacher?

My headmistress definitely influenced me to become a teacher.  Her name was Mrs.Fairburn and she had an amazing way of connecting with and understand her students, especially me!  Throughout my time with Mrs. Fairburn as my teacher I had a few difficulties with school, regardless of that she really took the time to know and understand me and truly helped me to reach my full potential as a student.  I will never forget that!

5. Do you make learning fun for the students how?

Yes of course! We are always talking in class, chatting about our lives and meaningful events occurring in them.   I also make sure all the students get to know one another well to create more comfort in the classroom.

6. What do you like to do when you aren’t teaching?

I read ALL the time! I love photography and spend a lot of time with my family when I can.  I’m very artsy and enjoy drawing, and painting.  I’m also a bit crazy and will impulsively do things such as swimming in Lady Anne’s birdbath in Kirstenbosh in the middle of the night!!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

