Volunteer Interview: Jeana

Hi, my name is Jeana and I am interning as an All-Rounder until the end of March. I am from Ohio and I have taken a quarter off of my studies to complete an internship here at Scalabrini. I am studying French and African studies at Ohio University and thus far my work at Scalabrini has correlated very closely with my studies back in the States. I have been at the Centre for a month and enjoyed every minute of it. I am looking forward to gaining a deeper understanding of the problems facing refugees here in South Africa and the causes of the surprisingly large amounts of xenophobia and prejudice. I am also looking forward to the opportunity to dabble in a few different sectors of the Centre as an All-Rounder. Working with the amazing staff, volunteers, and clients everyday is such a joy and I can’t imagine a better and more fulfilling internship.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

