Volunteer Interview: Frankie

My name is Frankie and I am a visitor to Cape Town from Upstate New York, USA.  I learned of Scalabrini Centre from a local-based branch International Volunteer Organization in which some of Scalabrini’s members came and gave a presentation of the Centre’s objectives, services and a brief historical perspective of laws and definitions.  I was hooked right away so I extended my stay to volunteer.  I am an “All-Rounder” which to some sounds boring but to me is exciting as it brings me into interaction with all the staff and several clients through projects, substitute teaching and tutoring. The clients are so wonderful, especially to see their smiles when they accomplish something.  I have been very honored to work with the staff and to observe their dedication, patience, understanding, and sharing of their lives with the clients and volunteers.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

