SCCT Teacher Interview: Rupert

An interview with Rupert

– First, tell us a little bit about yourself.

I am South African and I live in Cape Town. I was born in London but educated in Cape Town. I speak English and I can speak French.

-Tell us about your experiences working with students at this level.

 It is a pleasure to be with them when they are willing to learn.

– Why did you want to become a teacher?

 I was a teacher 40 years ago. This inspires me to do so again.

-Do you make learning fun for students? How?

Yes. I do this by introducing conversation. This gives opportunity to the students to speak.

-Who influenced you to become a teacher?

One of my mentors inspired me.

-What can you do to meet the needs of students who do not speak English?

If they are willing to come to class, I accept them. As the time goes, they will be able to speak English.

– What do you like to do when you are not teaching?

I like reading, watching movies, seeing friends and walking.

-Interview by Ruth Byukusenge

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

