Kate

Hi! My name is Kate and I’m the current English School Intern at the Scalabrini Centre.  I grew up on the west coast of the United States, spending the first eighteen years of my life on Bainbridge Island, a ferry ride outside of downtown Seattle, before moving to across the country to Ithaca, New York to study at Cornell University.

I’d always planned to travel and work in the non-profit sector, so when I had the opportunity to spend six months in Cape Town helping run the Scalabrini Centre English School, I jumped at it.  I graduated with a degree in economics at the end of May and started work at Scalabrini just a few weeks later.

Though I have always been fascinated with the human side of development work and policy, my economics background and other scholastic pursuits had mostly given me a theoretical understanding of the issues at hand.  I have always believed that our job, as volunteers, ngo workers, and human beings, is to help others help themselves, to the best of our abilities.  Working at Scalabrini has served as a reminder that everything boils down to human interactions and relationships—and how truly inspiring these relationships can be.

Looking back, I can’t believe I’ve only been here for three months–Cape Town already feels like home.  I can’t imagine life without the staff, volunteers, and most of all the English School students whom I see day in and day out.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

