Maria

Hello everyone! My name is Maria and I am happy to be volunteering here at Scalabrini for the next two months. I am originally from Argentina, but I have been living in Texas for many years now. I am a student at Rice University in Houston, Texas where I am double majoring in French and International Relations. I am also pursuing a minor in Poverty, Justice and Human Capabilities. Due to a requirement of this minor and also because of my passion for helping others, I am here in Cape Town to do a service learning Internship.

I hope to gain a lot from this internship and use this experience to enrich my studies. I also hope to make good friends and touch many people’s lives along the way. At Scalabrini I will be the ‘all-rounder’, meaning I will be lucky enough to work on the many different projects Scalabrini has to offer.

After working at Scalabrini I will be returning to Houston to finish up two more years of my undergraduate studies. In the future, I would like to either be a teacher/professor or to continue studying and working towards solving social justice issues.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

