Sophia

Hi! I’m Sophia, from Toronto, Canada-I am volunteering at the Scalabrini Centre until the end of July. I came to Cape Town through the University of Ottawa (my home university) to do a 12 week internship program related to my program of study, Political Science and Women’s Studies.

The Scalabrini Centre represents an opportunity to learn about different political issues (like access to jobs and xenophobia facing refugees) but also about another country and its cultures throughout Africa. The Scalabrini Centre provides such a range of services it really emphasizes the vast needs of people seeking refuge and asylum in South Africa, and the complexity of these processes in practice.

I am returning to Ottawa to pursue a career in law, hopefully focusing on women’s rights and international law. So far, Cape Town is beautiful, but colder than I ever expected for South Africa, especially since I am Canadian and know winter all too well. Nonetheless, to my surprise it gets cold in Cape Town! Ultimately, I hope to hike and enjoy the stunning scenery while I am here. I look forward to the coming months at Scalabrini!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

