Bing

Hi! My name is Bing and I’m from Singapore. Come August I’ll be a first-year student at the National University of Singapore, but in the meantime I decided to do something which combines my interests in volunteering and travel. And so here I am at the Scalabrini Center where I’ll be working at its Employment Help Desk for the next 2 months.

So far, the experience has been incredibly eye-opening. Our clients come to us from a wide range of countries and cultures; they bring with them a variety of skills and experiences but share the same earnest hope for a better life. It’s humbling and also very fulfilling to be able to talk to them and assist in their integration into this society. Settling in at the centre has been made easy by the dedicated team of staff and fellow volunteers, who have been most forthcoming with their support.

While work at the center has been rewarding, it doesn’t hurt that I have a wonderfully picturesque and charming city to explore in my free time. There is just so much to see and and do in Cape Town. This may be my first time in South Africa, but it certainly won’t be my last!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

