Rebecca

My name is Rebecca Phipps, and I am coming to Cape Town from New York City.  I am 26 years old, and after four years spent teaching high school math in NYC, I have decided that it is time for a change.  So, I will be attending law school next year, but in the meantime, I thought this year was the perfect time in my life to take a year to travel abroad.  Traveling and volunteering abroad is something I have enjoyed doing for quite a while, and it is my aim this year to gain experiences and knowledge that will inform me and inspire me as I head into my future law career. 
 
Cape Town is the third stop along the way: I began in Accra, Ghana, then headed to Kenya (to Kakuma Refugee Camp and Nairobi), then to Cape Town, and finally to Tel Aviv, Israel.  From what I have seen of the Scalabrini Centre so far, I think that this is going to be a very valuable experience.  At this point, my favorite part has been meeting and talking with the clients and learning about the various things they have been doing in the lives.  I look forward to the next two months that I will be spending here.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

