Troy


Hello! My name is Troy, and I’m from Brooklyn, New York in the United States. I’m volunteering here at Scalabrini at the Employment Help Desk (EHD) from September to November 2010. Prior to coming to the Scalabrini Centre, I worked for almost 13 years as a corporate lawyer for a law firm in New York City and, before going to law school, I served as a project coordinator for the Association of Schools of Public Health in Washington, DC for almost 4 years.  Between 2007 and 2009, I also attended weekend classes and earned an Executive Master of Public Administration with the goal of returning to work for nonprofits/NGOs in the area of community development and public health.

My time in Cape Town and with Scalabrini’s EHD have been incredible, and I could not have asked for a better volunteer experience or a transition back into community development work.  It’s been a privilege to meet the EHD clients, to share their stories and to assist them in their search for work; it’s also been terrific to work with the other volunteers and the Scalabrini staff. If you’re interested in reading a bit more about my thoughts on my experience, please feel free to check out my personal blog at http://thoughtsfromcapetown.blogspot.com/.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

