Elizabeth


Hello! My name is Elizabeth, and I’m from San Francisco, California in the United States. I’m volunteering here at Scalabrini as an All-Rounder for two months, from September to November 2010. I arrived in Cape Town in mid-September, and I absolutely love it. I couldn’t have asked for a better first experience on the African continent.

When I graduated from Bryn Mawr College in 2009, I had the sense that I wanted to work within the realm of transitional justice, but I didn’t know what direction to go in. I came to Scalabrini to gain experience and insight about what goes into providing support to refugees in a new host country. Working here was one of the best decisions I could have made. It’s given me the opportunity not only to see the inner workings of a refugee center, but to become involved in the process as well.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

