Promise

Hello, my name is Promise Monroe.  I am 28 years old and live in Atlanta, Ga in the USA.  I have been working there as a bartender for the last 10 years and enjoy working with a variety of interesting people.  I am in Cape Town for the next six weeks volunteering in a program called CrossCultural Solutions.  I am thinking about changing professions and going into non profit work.  I wanted to come and work here at Scalabrini because of the help it gives to the refugees.  A few years ago my family went through a natural disaster, Hurricane Katrina, and my family lost their homes.  After watching the impact it had, I decided that helping people put their lives back together was extremely important work.  Here at Scalabrini, I have an opportunity to share my skills with the community and assist them in finding a place for a new life here in Cape Town.  I am grateful to be a part of this, and look forward to the time I will spend here.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

