Marlie

My name is Marlie, I’m from Melbourne, Australia. I am coming to the end of my undergraduate degree studying International Relations and Politics and to finish off I decided to undertake an internship. I found Scalabrini through another organization, and when I was told I would have the opportunity to be involved in this kind of work, I was honestly blown away. To be a part of something that is so important and makes a true difference to many people is not what I had expected to be involved in when I was granted permission to do an internship. I think that both the staff at Scalabrini and the people who come to us for assistance have taught me more about this area of work, this part of the world and issues that we all face as a whole than I could ever hope to understand and gain in a classroom.

I will be at Scalabrini for a total of 6 weeks and although my work here is still in its infancy, I hope that my understanding increases significantly so that I may have the opportunity to help more people and make a true difference for many others in the future. The people I have met have been truly inspiring, and for me are a sincere testimony to the resilience and heart that is more commonly found in a place that outwardly truly desires to make a difference. I am humbled to be a part of the team and to be a part of the journey for many others.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

