Kerissa


Howdy and so nice to be volunteering with Scalabrini Centre! My name is Kerissa, I am 26 and I am from Minnesota, USA. I have been living in Cape Town for a few months and will soon be working for Flight Centre. Cape Town has tons to offer, from mountains to beaches but it also has tons of volunteering opportunities. Throughout my life I have taught English as a foreign language to Latino and Somali youth at home and have volunteered for all sorts of organizations. So when I came here and got settled, it only seemed natural to volunteer. Scalabrini Centre was a good choice for me. I have been volunteering at the Employment Help desk here for a week and it has already been very rewarding! I’d have to say I was most surprised at how busy it is here! Mainly, I help people create their CVs, and cover letters, make phone calls and faxes on their behalf. What I love about volunteering here is the work you put in is tasking but people are always nice, smiling and ever gracious for your assistance. After I begin working, I hope to be teaching English at the Centre on Saturdays.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

