Palmer’s reflections

After my first two months at Scalabrini, I feel settled in and am really enjoying my work! In the mornings I work at the Employment Help Desk assisting refugees in the job application process. By emphasizing professionalism and perseverance, I hope to be a great encouragement to our clients as they enter the South African job market. I have also been tutoring at Lawrence House in the afternoons and the relationships I have built with the children there have been incredibly rewarding. Even though we mostly work on homework, our time together is filled with laughter, and I never fail to leave Lawrence House with a smile on my face.  Despite the hardships that these children may have encountered in their young lives, they display a sense of joy for life and compassion for each other. Though I am the one teaching, I am constantly learning from them. I am so grateful for the amazing experience that volunteering at Scalabrini has been so far!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

