Teacher extraordinaire shares his thoughts

rupert

I first heard of Scalabrini when they put out an emergency call over the radio for supplies to help the thousands of refugees who had been caught up in the xenophobic riots of 2008. I took in a pile of blankets and was surprised to find their headquarters an impressive three-storey building. Hearing that Scalabrini offered English classes (as well as IT, dress-making and a soup kitchen), I spontaneously offered my services as a teacher.

I have been involved in adult education for the past 40 years, with experience on four continents, but nothing has given me more pleasure than working with the mainly Central African students who are so eager to learn. This, in contrast to teaching at university, where students do not always demonstrate the same enthusiasm!

I take my hat off to those here who have established this learning centre in the middle of our city and who extend help to so many.

Rupert is currently teaching four classes at the Scalabrini Centre! Both staff and students feel very lucky to have him here!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

