Rebecca

rebeccaThis is our new Employment Help Desk volunteer Rebecca from the US.

Rebecca just graduated from University and will support our team until December!

Besides being part of our EHD team she will also be teaching an English class twice a week.

And this is what Rebecca has to say about herself:

Hello! I am a recent graduate of Oberlin College, a small university in northern Ohio, near Cleveland. At Oberlin I studied Biology, thinking I would go to medical school after I graduated. After a year at Oberlin though, I realized my real passion was for teaching. I then shifted my focus, taking several courses on education and spending 2-3 afternoons per week tutoring young people at a local after-school center and teaching a music class at that same center. So while I am still very much interested in medicine and health, I plan to concentrate on education for the time being. I studied at the University of Cape Town for one semester last year and made some wonderful connections, so when I got the opportunity to come back to Cape Town to volunteer at the Scalabrini Centre, I eagerly took it. In my free time, I enjoy singing and playing the guitar, writing, dancing, and generally doing things that scare me.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

