Anthony

anthony1I joined SCCT in February this year, to work as a 6 month Full-time Trauma Counsellor Intern. I had already had two months to prepare myself for working with Refugees. This I had done through reading, and trying to learn what I could about what is happening to Migrants here in South Africa. Truth be told, it wasn’t enough! I have learnt far more while being here, than I ever could have imagined. The resilience of the human spirit is something I have admired as a person, and as a Psychotherapist. To talk to these people, to listen to them – they have such stories that could make you weep, yet the have a spirit that makes your heart soar. Where else could you meet people, who have suffered the indignities, the removal of almost all their rights from them, stripped to their core – and yet, here they are in SA, fighting. Fighting for a life, away from the traumatic environment at home. And here, what do we offer them in SA? Hopefully, far better, but in reality, further degredation. It is why I am so grateful to be a part of SCCT. To find a way for people to overcome all that has happened, to be able to cope with what they are still going through. The words that come to me are:
 
Africa, my Africa
I weep to hear your stories
I bleed for your children
Africa, my africa
Listen to their souls
Listen to their Stories
Africa, my Africa
Embrace them
Love them
Africa, my Africa
Bring peace to their souls!
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

